Archive for calls, October 2016

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[ecrea] Call for Papers: Annals of the International Communication Association

Wed Oct 05 14:04:14 GMT 2016

Annals of the International Communication Association
A Publication of the International Communication Association

The Annals of the International Communication Association is a new peer-reviewed quarterly journal publishing state-of-the-discipline literature reviews and essays dedicated to the exchange of interdisciplinary and internationally diverse scholarship relating to communication in its many forms.

The Annals will continue the traditions established in Communication Yearbook by providing an updated context for key research from across the Association. The Annals of the International Communication Association publishes three types of articles.

- Review Articles are state-of-the-discipline literature reviews and essays, including descriptive reviews, meta-analyses, and theoretical essays. Reviews can be retrospective reviews, which help readers understand the development of current knowledge within the discipline, or prescriptive essays that create a roadmap for where research needs to go in the future. Reviews will go through the traditional peer review process. - Communication Insights are solicited reviews that examine a set of predetermined topics that provide a degree of continuity across the years and indicate how a specific research domain has developed. A set of predetermined topics will rotate over five-year periods. - Topical Book Review Essays are essays that should include a discussion of recently published books that focus on a central theme within the discipline. The goal of the Annals Topical Book Review Essays is to provide a critical synthesis of a set of published books, but the essay should go beyond the confines of a traditional book review. Rather, the focus is on a critical essay that addresses issues pertinent to the discipline. It is recommended that at least 2 books be reviewed within an essay and while the books should be recently published, the inclusion of more classic texts is acceptable. The Editor encourages authors from non-English speaking countries to consider submitting topical review essays of books not available in the English language in order to increase the reach of communication studies research globally. Unlike traditional book reviews which are solicited, the Topical Book Review Essays are open submission and they will go through the traditional peer review process.

The Annals is both international and interdisciplinary in scope, with authors and chapters representing the broad global interests of the International Communication Association. All submissions will be subject to initial editor screening and subsequent peer review as necessary.

- For more information about the Annals of the International Communication, go to (The website for submissions is not yet live, but information on when submissions can be accepted will be posted on this website). - The Annals works on a continuous submission cycle. There are no deadlines for submissions. The editor anticipates publishing four issues per year. The first issue will be published in the first quarter of 2017.
- Use APA style, 6th edition.
- Include a cover letter stating that the manuscript represents original work by the author(s) and is not under consideration for any other publication. - The maximum word count for Review Articles is 10,000 words. The maximum word count for a solicited Communication Insights review is 14,000 words. The maximum word count for Topical Book Review Essays is 6,000 words. All of these limits are inclusive of tables, references, figure captions, and endnotes.

For more information about the Annals of the International Communication Association, please contact Dr. Ewoldsen at (annals.of.ica /at/ <mailto:(annals.of.ica /at/>.

David R. Ewoldsen, Michigan State University (effective August, 2016)
Associate Editors:
Miyase Christensen, Stockholm University; KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Thomas Hanitzsch, LMU Munich
Weiyu Zheng, National University of Singapore
Herman Wasserman, University of Cape Town

Editorial Board
David Boromisza-Habashi, University of Colorado Boulder
Paul Brewer, University of Delaware
Sahara Byrne, Cornell University
Jean Burgess, Queensland University of Technology
Scott Campbell, University of Michigan
Matt Carlson, Saint Louis University
John Caughlin, University of Illinois
Arul Chib, Nanyang Technological University
Iris Chyi, University of Texas at Austin
Jonathan Cohen, University of Haifa
Francois Cooren, Université de Montréal
Robert T. Craig, University of Colorado Boulder
Stephen M. Croucher, University of Jyväskylä
Paul D’Angelo, The College of New Jersey
John Downing, Southern Illinois University
Mohan Dutta, National University of Singapore
Frank Esser, University of Zurich
Cindy Gallois, University of Queensland
R. Kelly Garrett, Ohio State University
Daniel C. Hallin, University of California, San Diego
Evelyn Ho, University of San Francisco
Lance Holbert, Temple University
Sandy Hsu, University of Wyoming
Veronika Karnowski, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Marwan Kraidy, University of Pennsylvania
Timothy Kuhn, University of Colorado Boulder
Chul-Joo Lee, Seoul National University
Eun-Ju Lee, Seoul National University
Francis Lee, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Robin Mansell, London School of Economics and Political Science
Jörg Matthes, University of Vienna
Toby Miller, City University of London
Patricia Moy, University of Washington
PC Neijens, University of Amsterdam
Jeff Niederdeppe, Cornell University
Jan Olsson, Stockholm University
Mary Beth Oliver, Penn State University
Zizi Papacharissi, University of Illinois at Chicago
Jessica Piotrowski, University of Amsterdam
Jeff Pooley, Muhlenberg College
Natalia Rybas, Indiana University East
Sudeshna Roy, Stephen F. Austin State University
Katharine Sarikakis, University of Vienna
Jennifer Samp, University of Georgia
Dietram Scheufele, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Holger Schramm, University of Würzburg
Jesper Stromback, University of Gothenburg
Federico Subervi, Kent State University
Shyam Sundar, Penn State University
David Tewksbury, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Gavan Titley, National University of Ireland, Maynooth
Karen Tracy, University of Colorado Boulder
Thomas Tufte, Roskilde University
Chiara Valentini, Aarhus University
Patti Valkenburg, University of Amsterdam
Alena Vasilyeva, University of Massachusetts
Karin Wahl-Jorgensen, Cardiff University
Michael Xenos, University of Wisconsin –  Madison

ECREA-Mailing list
This mailing list is a free service offered by Nico Carpentier and ECREA.
To subscribe, post or unsubscribe, please visit
To contact the mailing list manager:
Email: (nico.carpentier /at/
ECREA - European Communication Research and Education Association
Chauss�de Waterloo 1151, 1180 Uccle, Belgium
Email: (info /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]