Archive for February 2013

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[ecrea] cfp - EuroITV 2013: Thinking Outside the Box

Fri Feb 01 19:02:32 GMT 2013

** Our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this CFP
** EuroITV 2013: Thinking Outside the Box
** 11th European Interactive TV Conference
** June 24-26 2013, Como, Italy

EuroITV is the leading international conference for media and
interaction related to video and television.
During the past years, new technologies brought tremendous change to
the TV industries by shifting the value control point from
distribution to consumption. This year's theme "Thinking Outside the
Box" is a stimulus to explore how these changes might affect
television, by exploring new perspectives and leveraging cross-domain

Researchers and practitioners from all over the world meet to discuss
latest advances in media technology, HCI, systems&  technology, media
studies, personalization and recommender systems, and content creation
We invite original, high quality papers submissions addressing how
digital technologies open up new ways of consumption and interaction
with rich-media content.

The main conference proceedings, in cooperation with ACM, SIGCHI,
SIGWEB and SIGMM, will be published by ACM DL. Selected papers will be
short-listed for submission to special edition journals.

This year's conference consists of four tracks - each with its own
program committee and separate track chairs. Full and short papers
have to be submitted in one of these tracks, to optimize the review
If not sure, choose the track, which is closest to the main topic of
your submission, and of which you feel that community is most
appropriate to review your work.  More details on each track can be
found on the website.

Track 1: Human-Computer Interaction
Track 2: Systems and Enabling Technologies
Track 3: Content, Media&  Interactive Media Art
Track 4: Media, Social and Business Studies


- Beyond the home context, extended home, Mobile TV
- Ambient intelligence, ambient media environments
- Social TV, sociability, usability and user experience
- Digital content production, HDTV and digital cinema
- Asset management, metadata and content enrichment
- Entertainment computing, games, betting, game shows
- Broadband and IPTV
- 3DTV and VR systems
- Audience research, ethnography, user studies
- New advertising and revenue models for television
- Accessibility, universal access, multimodal interaction
- Business models, media management, media economics, t-commerce, t-learning
- Web2.0, user-generated content
- Communication services, video conferencing, messaging
- Content management, digital rights management
- Interactive storytelling, interactive advertising
- Electronic program guide, video search, video navigation
- Enhanced TV (news, weather, sports)
- Changes in technical requirements and infrastructures (ubiquitous and mobile)
- Standards (TV-Anytime, MPEG-4, MPEG-7, SMIL)
- Multimedia, graphics, broadcast and video technology
- Recommender systems, user modeling, intelligent user interfaces
- Ethical, regulatory and policy issues


Short and Long Papers
- Submission: February 8th, 2013 (final extension)
- Notification: March 22nd, 2013

Paper, Demo, Doctoral Consortium&  Industrial Papers
- Submission: March 29th, 2013 (final extension)
- Notification: April 12nd, 2013

To submit your contribution, please follow the instructions at:

The proceedings will be published by ACM, and be made available in the
ACM Digital Library. Extended versions of selected papers will be
considered for a special issue in a journal.


General Chair
Paolo Paolini

Conference Chairs
Paolo Cremonesi, George Lekakos

Program Coordinator
Marianna Obrist

Track 1 Chairs: Human Computer Interaction
Franca Garzotto, Santosh Basapur

Track 2 Chairs: Systems and Enabling Technologies
Stefano Tubaro, Shelley Buchinger

Track 3 Chairs: Content, Media&  Interactive Media Art
Francesca Piredda, Margarete Jahrmann, Falk Heinrich

Track 4 Chairs: Media, Social and Economic Studies
Margherita Pagani, Elisa Rubegni

Tutorial and Workshop Chairs
Maria da Graça Pimentel, Niloofar Dezfuli

Demo Session Chairs
Jonathan Hook, Diego Martinez-Plasencia

Doctoral Consortium Chairs
David Geerts, Dominik Strohmeier

iTV in Industry Chair
Patrick Huber

Grand Challenge Chairs
Artur Lugmayr, Robert Strzebkowski, Milena Szafir

Local Chair
Matteo Picozzi

Politecnico di Milano, Italy -

Send any inquiry about the conference to:
(info /at/

ECREA-Mailing list
This mailing list is a free service from ECREA.
To unsubscribe, please visit
ECREA - European Communication Research and Education Association
Postal address:
Université Libre de Bruxelles
c/o Dept. of Information and Communication Sciences
CP123, avenue F.D. Roosevelt 50, b-1050 Bruxelles, Belgium
Email: (info /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]