Archive for calls, April 2009

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[ecrea] CFP: Conference on Electronic Democracy EDEM09

Sat Apr 11 13:13:48 GMT 2009

2009 Conference on Electronic Democracy
7.-8.9.2009 University of Economics and Business Administration Vienna, Austria

Submissions deadline: 17 May 2009

There are a number of eDemocracy applications, ranging from transparency sites and information, discussion, deliberation and consultation platforms to decision-making and voting systems, thus encompassing the entire democratic process. As technical devices have matured and feasibility is largely not considered an issue any more, other questions are now considered:

* To what extent can eDemocracy support and enrich our democracy?
* What and where are the interfaces, what methods can be used to integrate eParticipation in present public administration processes? * How can we ensure that the greatest number of people are reached and are able to use the means of participation?
* How can the modern media support political education?
* How can the Internet increase participation in political discussion?
* What are the limitations and the risks of eDemocracy?
* How may traditional Decision Support Systems be included in the eDemocracy framework? * How may microeconomic models (eg, game theory) contribute to the understanding of the dynamics created by electronic citizen involvement? The EDem 2009 presents the unique opportunity to look into these questions and discuss the answers. During the conference experiences will be shared, examples of good (and maybe not so good) practice analysed, the State-of-the-Art and future scenarios will be presented and discussed.

We are looking for contributions on all areas and levels of electronic democracy and participation systems, projects can also be submitted, and, if accepted, would be presented as examples of "hands-on" demonstrations of E-Democracy and E-Participation.

The main conference language is English; submissions in German are also acceptable.

We invite individuals from academic and professional backgrounds as well as public administration offices, public bodies, NGOs, education institutions and independen t organisations to submit their contributions.

The EDEM conference series is jointly organised by the Danube University Krems and the University of Economics and Business Administration, Vienna.

*  Submission of papers (max. 10 pages): 17.5.2009
*  Notification of acceptance: 19.6.2009
*  Final paper submission: 19.7.2009
*  Pre-conference program: 6.9.2009
*  Conference: 7./8.9.2009
Conference Chairs:
* Alexander Prosser (University of Economics and Business Administration, Vienna, Austria)
* Peter Parycek (Danube University Krems, Austria)
Please send your submission in pdf format to (alexander.prosser /at/ or (peter.parycek /at/
Further information:

Program Committee
Georg Aichholzer (Austrian Academy of Science, Austria)
Sylvia Archmann (Federal Chancellery, Austria)
Lasse Berntzen (Vestfold University, Norway)
Thomas Buchsbaum (Austrian Foreign Ministry, Council of Europe/CAHDE, Austria)
Yannis Charalabidis (National Technical University of Athens - eGovernment & eBusiness Research, Greece)
Noella  Edelmann (Danube University Krems - Centre for E-Government, Austria)
Peter Filzmaier (Department of Political Communication, Danube University Krems, Austria)
Matjaz Gams (University of Ljubljana - J. Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
Julia Glidden (21c Consultancy Ltd, UK)
Thomas F. Gordon (Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany)
Hans Ha gedorn (Zebralog, Austria)
Christian Heise (, Germany)
Chuck Hirt (Central and Eastern European Citizens Network, Slovakia)
Dan Jellinek (Headstar, UK)
Michel Klein (HEC, France)
Bozidar Klicek (Faculty of Organization and Informatics, University of Zagreb, Croatia)
Ah Lian Kor (Leeds Metropolitan University, UK)
Rudolf Legat (Austrian Environmental Agency, Austria)
Rolf Luehrs (TuTech Innovation GmbH, Germany)
Ann Macintosh (Leeds University, U.K.)
ülle Madise (Legal Adviser to the President of the Republic of Estonia)
Viktor Mayer-Schönberger,(Harvard Kennedy School, USA)
Edith Maier (University College St. Gallen, Switzerland)
Ursula Maier-Rabler (University of Salzburg, Austria)
Josef Makolm (Ministry of Finance, Austria)
Jeremy Millard (Danish Technological Institute, Denmark)
Francesco Molinari (IDEAL-EU, Italy)
Peter Mambrey (Fraunhofer - FIT Institut für Ange wandte Informationstechnik, Germany)
Robert Müller-Török (INTECO, Germany)
D. R. Newman (Queen's University Belfast, Northern Ireland)
Graham Orange (Leeds Metropolitan University, UK)
Flooh Perlot (Institut für Strategieanalysen, Austria)
Matt Poelmans (Burgerlink, Netherlands)
Peter Reichstädter (Austrian Chancellery, Austria)
Christian Rupp (Austrian Chancellery)
Günther Schefbeck (Austrian Parliament, Austria)
Erich Schweighofer ( Institut für Europarecht, Internationales Recht und Rechtsvergleichung, University of Vienna, Austria)
Tom Steinberg (, U.K.)
Roland Traunmüller (University of Linz, Austria)
Tom van Engers (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Melanie Volkamer (Universität Passau, Germany)
Silke Weiss (Ministry of Finance, Austria)
Hilmar Westholm (Austrian Academy of Science, Austria)
Andy Williamson (Hansard Society, UK)
Frank Wilson (Interaction Design Ltd, UK)
Maria Wimmer (University of Koblenz, Germany)

Nico Carpentier (Phd)
Vrije Universiteit Brussel - Free University of Brussels
Centre for Studies on Media and Culture (CeMeSO)
Pleinlaan 2 - B-1050 Brussels - Belgium
T: ++ 32 (0)2-629.18.56
F: ++ 32 (0)2-629.36.84
Office: 5B.401a
European Communication Research and Education Association
E-mail: (Nico.Carpentier /at/

ECREA-Mailing list
This mailing list is a free service from ECREA.
To unsubscribe, please visit
ECREA - European Communication Research and Education Association
Postal address:
Université Libre de Bruxelles
c/o Dept. of Information and Communication Sciences
CP123, avenue F.D. Roosevelt 50, b-1050 Bruxelles, Belgium
Email: (info /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]