Archive for April 2005

(From 2002 until 2005, this mailing list was called the ECCR mailing list)
[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[eccr] Update First European Communication Conference; Deadline extended to 15 May

Wed Apr 27 14:27:24 GMT 2005

First European Communication Conference
KIT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, November 24-26, 2005

The First European Communication Conference will be held at the KIT (Royal 
Tropical Institute), Amsterdam, The Netherlands. The general theme is 
"Fifty Years of Communication Research in Europe: Past and Future". With 
this conference, communication researchers everywhere in Europe celebrate 
the establishment of many university departments of our discipline half a 
century ago, as well as the 50th anniversary of leading journals of our 
field, such as "Gazette" and "Publizistik". For the first time, both 
European associations of communication and media studies, ECCR and ECA, 
jointly invite scholars to convene and present their research to an 
international audience.

Keynote speakers at the conference are:
Johan Galtung, University of Hawaii, USA
Todd Gitlin, Columbia University, USA
Cees Hamelink, Amsterdam School of Communications Research, University of 
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Denis McQuail, University of Southampton, UK
Winfried Schulz, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Call for papers:
Researchers on communication from various disciplines and from various 
approaches (including interpersonal, organizational and mass communication) 
are invited to submit papers for this conference. For the complete call for 
papers, see:

Extension of deadline: Please note that abstracts (no more than 800 words) 
for papers, sessions, round tables and posters can be sent in until May 15 
to: (papers /at/

This conference is convened by the Department of Communication Sciences at 
the University of Amsterdam, the European Communication Association (ECA), 
and the European Consortium for Communication Research (ECCR), together 
with "Gazette".

For all further information, please direct your questions to: Mr. Johannes 
von Engelhardt, Department of Communication Science, University of 
Amsterdam, Kloveniersburgwal 48, NL-1012 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
For electronic enquiries: (info /at/

Information about the conference can be found at

Prof. Dr. Betteke van Ruler, Chair, Department of Communication Science,
University of Amsterdam
Prof. Pertti Hurme, president of ECA
Prof. Francois Heinderyckx, president of ECCR

Carpentier Nico (Phd)
Katholieke Universiteit Brussel - Catholic University of Brussels
Vrijheidslaan 17 - B-1081 Brussel - Belgium
T: ++ 32 (0)2-412.42.78
F: ++ 32 (0)2/412.42.00
Office: 4/0/18
Vrije Universiteit Brussel - Free University of Brussels
Centre for Media Sociology (CeMeSO)
Pleinlaan 2 - B-1050 Brussels - Belgium
T: ++ 32 (0)2-629.18.30
F: ++ 32 (0)2-629.28.61
Office: 5B.401a
European Consortium for Communication Research
E-mail: (Nico.Carpentier /at/

ECCR-Mailing list
To unsubscribe, send an email message to (majordomo /at/
with in the body of the message (NOT in the subject): unsubscribe eccr
ECCR - European Consortium for Communications Research
Secretariat: P.O. Box 106, B-1210 Brussels 21, Belgium
Tel.: +32-2-412 42 78
Fax.: +32-2-412 42 00
Email: (info /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]