Archive for July 2015

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[ecrea] Call for Nominations: ICA C. Edwin Baker Award

Fri Jul 03 18:42:01 GMT 2015

C. Edwin Baker Award for the Advancement of Scholarship on Media,
Markets and Democracy

The Philosophy, Theory and Critique and Communication Law and Policy
Divisions of the International Communication Association seek nominees
for the annual C. Edwin Baker Award for the Advancement of Scholarship
on Media, Markets and Democracy.

We encourage self-nominations, as well as the nomination of others.

The Baker Award recognizes work that has made significant contributions
to the development, reach and influence of such scholarship. While the
award committee favors research that consists of multiple projects and
publications that have made a clear, coherent and sustained contribution
to the advancement of such scholarship over time, single works and/or
activities that have been highly influential in the field may also
qualify someone for nomination.

More specifically, nominees for this award will have accomplished one or
more of the following:

(1) opened up new theoretical and/or methodological territory in
research on any aspect of the interrelations between media, markets and

(2) made other important contributions to the advancement of scholarship
on these inter-relations;

(3) engaged in activism that advanced scholarship on these inter-relations.

The award is open to ICA members and to anyone else whose research can
be shown to have a connection with the work of the ICA and its various
divisions. Members of the Award Committee may nominate, but no ICA
member who makes a nomination or who is nominated for an award can serve
on the committee judging the nomination.

All nominators must: 

(1) Submit letter(s) of nomination, not to exceed two pages each. These
letter must: (a) specify the relevant body of work and/or other
contributions made; (b) address the work’s and/or activity’s
contributions to scholarship of media, markets and democracy (in the
case of research, this will involve theoretical and methodological
assessments of that work); and (c) make a case for its influence and
impact on the advancement of such scholarship. 

(2) Submit representative examples of the work cited, along with a CV,
to the chair of the awards committee .

(3) Have all materials electronically submitted by 11:00 pm EST, July 31.

The Baker Award was established in 2010 through an endowed fund created
from the estate of Professor C Edwin Baker (1947-2009), who was the
Nicholas F. Gallichio Professor of Law and Communication at the
University of Pennsylvania Law School, and is intended to honor the
enormous contribution made by Professor Baker to communications
scholarship. The Divisions gratefully acknowledge the assistance of
Professor Baker’s sister Dr Nancy Baker.

Nominations should be sent to:

Seamus Simpson (Communication Law and Policy Division Chair) at:

(s.simpson /at/

Dr. Mirca Madianou
Vice-Chair ICA Philosophy Theory and Critique Division
Department of Media and Communications
Goldsmiths, University of London
New Cross, London
SE14 6NW

Tel: +44 (0)20 7919 7244
email: (m.madianou /at/
ECREA-Mailing list
This mailing list is a free service offered by Nico Carpentier and ECREA.
To subscribe, post or unsubscribe, please visit
To contact the mailing list manager:
Email: (nico.carpentier /at/
ECREA - European Communication Research and Education Association
Chauss�de Waterloo 1151, 1180 Uccle, Belgium
Email: (info /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]