Archive for calls, February 2020

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]

[Commlist] CfP Media Sociology Symposium

Tue Feb 11 08:07:19 GMT 2020

Media Soc Symposium 2020

Friday August 7, 2020 at UC Berkeley
Deadline for submissions: April 1, 2020
Notification: May 1, 2020
Registration Due for Participants: July 1, 2020
Registration is free for CITAMS members

Website: <>

We are delighted to announce the call for participation to the 2020 Media Sociology Symposium held at UC Berkeley this August 7th sponsored by the UC Berkeley ISSI, /Emerald Studies in Media and Communications,/ and CITAMS in tandem with the ASA and AEJMC meetings in San Francisco.

This year’s keynote is David Bamman at the UC Berkeley I School. In addition, the event will feature the CITAMS’s Chair’s Panel: Work @ a Crossroads: Opportunities, Challenges & Inequalities of Digital Work organized by Anabel Quan-Haase and Christo Sims with panelists TL Taylor, Lilly Irani, Christoph Lutz, Gemma Newlands, and Alex Miltsov.

Submissions are due *April 1st *and are welcome on any topic related to media, technology, and society. Registration is free to all current CITAMS members. Registration for non-CITAMS members is $35.

To submit individual research presentations, provide the following information: title of the research, name(s) and email address(es) of all author(s), short abstract (approx. 200-500 words),  and 3-5 key words. Submit individual research presentations on the individual submission form HERE. <>

To submit a panel proposal of 4-6 thematically linked presentations, provide the following information: title of panel, all names and email addresses of corresponding organizer(s) and moderator(s), short abstract on value of panel (200-600 words), and 3-5 key words for the entire panel. In addition, for each presentation in the panel, provide: title of research, author’s name, and author’s email address , and a short abstract (200-500 approx.). Submit panel proposals on the panel submission form HERE. <>

Questions? Please email: (mediasociologysymposium /at/ <mailto:(mediasociologysymposium /at/>

We look forward to seeing you in Berkeley this August!

2020 Organizing Committee Members (in alphabetical order): Wenhong Chen, Ken Kambara, Laura Robinson, Jeremy Schulz, Ian Sheinheit, & Julie Wiest
This mailing list is a free service offered by Nico Carpentier. Please use it responsibly and wisely.
To subscribe or unsubscribe, please visit
Before sending a posting request, please always read the guidelines at
To contact the mailing list manager:
Email: (nico.carpentier /at/

[Previous message][Next message][Back to index]